Skip to main content


Ken Scarlett Award

This year’s Scarlett Award is generously sponsored by Marny Fenton.

The Scarlett Award is a national competition for Australian professional and non-professional critics, artists and writers that aims to foster an appreciation of contemporary sculptural and installation practice.

Named after Ken Scarlett, a curator and writer on Australian sculpture, Ken was also the curator of the inaugural Lorne Sculpture Biennale in 2007.

Writers are invited to submit a 1,000 word short essay on one of the following themes:

  • One of the Spirit of Place selected artists and their practice;
  • The theme ‘Spirit of Place’;
  • Public sculpture.

The winning submission will be awarded $3,000.

Review Barnaby Smith’s winning entry from the 2018 Lorne Sculpture Biennale Landfall.

Download our pdf outlining terms and conditions of entry.

Small Sculpture Award

This year’s Small Sculpture Award is generously sponsored by Graeme H. Williams OAM.

The Small Sculpture exhibition has been a part of Lorne Sculpture Biennale since its beginning, and in 2011, a prize for best work was established.

In 2022, prize money for the Small Sculpture Award is $5,000.

Participation in the event is by invitation only, and this year will feature small works from all 16 precinct artists, established sculptors and selected arts students.

People’s Choice Award

The People’s Choice Award will be generously supported in 2022 by Friends of Lorne and Karen Pitt.

Each year, the people have been given the opportunity to vote for their favourite sculpture in the sculpture trail. This year, a prize of $3,000 will be awarded.